Pumpkin Ale Cake {Spiked Recipe Challenge}

Today I am linking up with This Gal Cooks and Frugal Foodie Mama for their Spiked Recipe Challenge : Fall Beers!

Fall marks the return of all those great things that we love.  Cooler days, crisper air, pumpkin spice lattes and seasonal beers!  We love craft beer year around, but there is something special about the flavors you can only get seasonally.  For this recipe, I chose the Cottonwood Pumpkin Ale brewed by Foothills Brewery in Winston-Salem, North Carolina!  This beer was the obvious choice since my husband works in the brewery at Foothills! : )

foothills pumpkin ale cake

I adapted my recipe from a cake that a good friend of mine introduced me to.  It’s a doctored up cake mix and her original version is ALWAYS a big hit whenever I make it.  So simple – can be mixed up and in the oven in no time!

pumpkinale3pumpkinale4

For my Spiked version, I made a few substitutions.

Pumpkin Ale instead of the water.

Canned pumpkin in place of the sour cream.

Butter pecan cake mix and vanilla pudding instead of her vanilla / chocolate version.

I kept the chocolate chips … their semi-sweetness is a nice balance to the sweetness of the cake.

The results were just as moist and amazing!  To finish this one off, I added a drizzle of caramel sauce.  And honestly, the cake is so moist, you can get by with just a sprinkle of powdered sugar, if you want to tone down the sweetness!

pumpkin6

Here’s the recipe!

Pumpkin Ale Cake

1 box butter pecan cake mix
1 small box vanilla instant pudding
1/2 c sugar
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
4 eggs
8oz canned pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
3/4 c oil
3/4 c Pumpkin Ale
6oz semi sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350
Mix all ingredients together. Stir in chocolate chips.
Pour into well greased bunt pan.
Bake for 45-50 mins.

To finish, drizzle 1/2 c caramel sauce OR a sprinkle of powdered sugar.

Thanks ladies for the challenge!

18 thoughts on “Pumpkin Ale Cake {Spiked Recipe Challenge}

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Lasagna | Halloween Culture

  2. Hello my fellow Spiked contestant! Just stopping by to check out the competition 🙂
    This looks so yummy – I love all things pumpkin (except beer! lol) I pinned this and am now following you on Pinterest/Instagram
    Good luck!
    ang

  3. Pingback: Grand River Brewing – Highballer Pumpkin Ale | sounds like beer

  4. Pingback: Peanut Butter Pecan Swirl Ice Cream | Peanut Butter Pecan Swirl Ice Cream Recipe

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin Pudding | Zlater Family CookBook

  6. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Cake, Cool Whip and Rhino The Taste Tester | terry1954

Leave a comment